Lawson’s Finest Liquids: Sip of Sunshine 4/21/2017

So on the front page of my blog, I make a disclaimer that I am not in the business of blogging exclusively about beer “whales”…that said if I ever had the opportunity to review such a beer, I would be sure to do so.  Well today my wife surprised me with just such an opportunity (I love that woman).  She surprised me with a beer called “Sip of Sunshine”- a Double IPA whose reputation is on par with that of Heady Topper from The Alchemist (and its reputation is well deserved).  I know that I have been doing a lot of IPA posts lately (particularly New England-style IPAs), but just indulge me for a moment:

Beer Name: Sip of Sunshine

Brewery: Lawson’s Finest Liquids

Brewery Location: Warren, VT

Beer Style: Double IPA

ABV: 8%

IBU: 65

Appearance

Sip of Sunshine pours a hazy golden-orangey color with a creamy white head.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aroma

The aroma is very fruit/citrus forward.  I picked up on a little bit of orange, grapefruit, and pineapple.  Very appealing!

Taste & Aftertaste

Let’s get the obvious of this beer out of the way first- this beer is very hop forward with lots of fruit up front.  I picked up on a lot of orange and grapefruit peel character (not like taking a bite out of the fruit, but more like the zest of the fruit).  Upon the first sip, the beer doesn’t start off that bitter, however the bitterness lingers and builds more over time as you continue to drink it.  This beer is medium bodied, though I wouldn’t say it has a “soft” mouthfeel like many New England-style IPAs tend to have.  In terms of the malt character of this beer, it has a multi-grain bread-like character with an almost “wheat thin” flavor in the finish.

Overall Impressions

At the end of the day, it was hard not to want to review and critically analyze this beer.  Heady Topper was one of the beers that helped me take the plunge into the craft beer world, but I was lucky to also have this beer around the same time that I had my first Heady (so it’s special to me).  This is a great Double IPA for you hop heads out there and, in a way, is a very short look back into local beer history.  Sip of Sunshine is one of the beers that has helped shape the evolution of the New England-style IPA, and I think it’s a beer that every hop head should have the privilege to drink at least once in their lives.

Leave a Reply

