Mighty Squirrel: Sport Kiwi White 4/7/2017

Today is National Beer Day!  Now I know what you’re thinking- today is one of those made up “holidays” like National “Speak Like a Pirate Day”…but there is some actual historical precedence to celebrate this day.  On April 7, 1933 FDR enacted the Cullen-Harrison Act, which legalized the sale of low alcohol beer (<4%) and led to the eventual demise of Prohibition later that year.  As someone whose livelihood is dependent on alcohol, I want to show my appreciation for the holiday by sharing my review of a local beer that was mostly unknown to me until recently.  Here’s my review of Mighty Squirrel’s: Sport Kiwi White:

Beer Name: Sport Kiwi White

Brewery: Mighty Squirrel

Brewery Location: Boston, MA

Beer Style: Witbier

ABV: 4.8%

IBU: 12

Appearance

Sport Kiwi White pours brilliantly clear light golden color and has virtually no head to it.  I could read a book through the glass- that’s how clear it is.  I was shocked- typical witbiers are never this clear.

Mighty Squirrel Kiwi White

Aroma

This beer has some extremely pungent fruit aromatics.  I detect the kiwi in this, but to me this beer smells almost identical to a green jolly rancher (Note: not in the sense that I detect acetaldehyde- an off-flavor that has a distinct green apple flavor).

Taste & Aftertaste

This beer is certainly fruit forward (as I expected based on the aroma), however it’s not as overwhelming to the senses as I anticipated.  I can definitely taste the kiwi alongside with some peach notes and hints of orange too.  However, the fruit character is a bit more subdued than I was expecting- which is a good thing for me because I believe beer should taste like beer first, and fruit/other flavorings second.  I get some light tartness in this beer which is accentuated by the citrus flavors, alongside some notes of sourdough bread from the malt.  There is some lingering astringency in the finish of this beer that I’m not a huge fan of, but it’s only a light astringency (so it’s easily ignored).  The body of this beer is very light (bordering on thin), but this beer markets itself as a low carb beer (so I’m letting it slide).

Overall Impressions

Overall, Sport Kiwi White is not your traditional looking or tasting witbier, but it does taste good.  It’s very light, refreshing, and would be great to have on a warm summer day (those days are around the corner).  Honestly (this is the beer nerd in me talking) if I’m looking for a traditional witbier, I am not grabbing this beer… BUT if I’m outside grilling on a hot day, I’m having at least three of these.

Leave a Reply

