Wachusett Brewing Company: Wally 3/28/2017

After a long, tiring shift at work, I found myself with some extra time on my hands.  So I decided to kill two birds with one stone: relieve some work-related stress with a beer and write a new review.  I decided to try Wachusett Brewing Company’s Wally because it was their take on the New England-style IPA (which I always have a soft spot for).  I was especially interested because it’s always nice to see a brewery that has been around for a long time continuing to produce good beer that is in touch today’s trends and tastes (i.e. they’re not stuck in the past).  Here are my notes:

Beer Name: Wally

Brewery: Wachusett Brewing Company

Brewery Location: Westminster, MA

Beer Style: IPA

ABV: 7%

IBU: 70

Appearance

Wally pours a hazy, golden color with a thin white lace that follows the beer all the way down the glass.

Wally

Aroma

Floral (almost perfume-like) with slight hints of grapefruit/orange qualities.  I also detect some very slight dank (marijuana-like) notes in the background.

Taste & Aftertaste

The mouthfeel of this beer is softer compared to traditional IPAs (particularly West Coast-style IPAs- which are dry, crisp, and firmly bitter).  However, the mouthfeel is neither thick nor creamy like one would expect from the popular NEIPAs on the market.  The hop bitterness is firm (yet pleasant), floral, and does not linger for too long.  In addition to being floral, I also pick up on hints of grapefruit and other indiscriminate citrus fruit notes from the hops.  Overall, the hop profile is very nice!  I get some alcohol warmth from this beer, but it’s not overbearing.  This is a very nice IPA!

Overall Impressions

This was a very interesting beer for me to evaluate.  With the ever-growing popularity of the New England-style IPA, it’s always interesting to taste a new interpretation on the style (especially one from a brewery who has been cranking out beers for over 20 years).  I would categorize this beer to be somewhere between the NEIPA and West Coast IPA.  On the one hand, the mouthfeel is not quite thick or creamy enough to constitute a NEIPA, nor does it pack a walloping citrus punch (I don’t think fanboys wouldn’t call this beer “juicy”, but that’s just my opinion).  The beer also has a bit too much of a bitter backbone to meet the NEIPA criteria.  On the other hand, the beer is hazy, and the mouthfeel is softer when you compare it to West Coast-style IPAs (which are dry and crisp with a very prominent hop bite).  But you know what?  Who cares about style?  This is an excellent IPA.  It doesn’t need to conform to trendy guidelines (or any for that matter) to be pleasing to me.  It tastes good so I’m drinking it, and you should too!

Leave a Reply

