Long Live Beerworks: The All Seeing Eye 3/1/2017

Hey folks! I’ve been falling a little bit behind on my personal reviews of beer (in large part due to work and other blog posts), but I’m back with a new review of a beer almost literally in my own backyard: The All Seeing Eye from Longlive Beerworks.  I recognize that I don’t always review the most trendy and hip beers out there (I am trying to do a variety after all), however this beer has been gathering a lot of buzz in the local craft beer scene, so I figured that I had to check it out.  So for your reading and tasting pleasure I give you The All Seeing Eye:

Beer Name: The All Seeing Eye

Brewery: Long Live Beerworks

Brewery Location: Providence, RI

Beer Style: Double IPA

ABV: 8.4%

IBU: N/A

Appearance

The All Seeing Eye pours an opaque pale-golden color with a thin white head that clings to life (and slowly dies) over time.  Let’s face it- if I put this in front of you and just called it “juice”, you would probably believe me (I still refuse to call these beers “juicy” though).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aroma

Hoppy. The most dominant notes in the aroma are a plethora of tropical fruit with some grassy notes present as well.

Taste & Aftertaste

Right off the bat, I get notes of mango and pineapple, accompanied by light hints of orange and lime in the background.  This beer is a definite fruit/citrus bomb.  I get some bitterness in this beer, but it’s at comparatively low levels for a double IPA (which is typical for the New England-style IPA).  The mouthfeel is on the thicker side (I do detect a perceived sweetness to it), but the beer actually finishes pretty dry.  To top it all off, the beer has virtually no alcohol burn to it at all (which is scary considering listed alcohol percentage).  The perceived sweetness that I pick up is likely the indicator towards the beer’s high alcohol content.  I’m not complaining- I feel warm inside now.

Overall Impressions

This beer is excellent and I take a lot of pride knowing that it is brewed right in my home city.  The fruit and citrus notes derived from the hops makes this beer unbelievably accessible to the average beer drinker.  Just to clarify that statement- I wouldn’t introduce a novice beer drinker to a normal IPA (in large part due to the bitterness), but I would certainly introduce them to a New England-style IPA because the bitterness isn’t so intense that it would scare them off.  If anything- it’s a gateway beer to other IPAs.  Honestly, I would put this beer on par with any of the super trendy New England IPAs on the market right now (see my review on Tree House: Green).  This beer is an excellent representation of what my home state can produce, and I couldn’t be prouder.

Leave a Reply

